close menu
This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.

Police Department

Contact Us
Pinning 2 - Copy
Chief Richard A. Gautier

1611 Wenonah Ave.
Pearisburg, VA  24134

Ph: 540-921-0340
Sheriff: 540-921-3842
Fx: 540-921-2705
Emergency: 911

Monday - Friday
9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Staff Directory
Pearisburg Officers
Officers in the department include:
  • Chief R.A. Gautier
  • Captain B. Mullins
  • Lieutenant D.W. Ratcliffe
  • Sergeant M.S. Spicer
  • Officer M. Cohen
  • Sr. Officer P.T. Vinson
  • Officer J. A. Gilbert 
  • Officer P. W. Truitt
  • Admin. April Williams 
Meet the Chief
Police Chief Richard A. Gautier has served the citizens of Pearisburg since 1998. He was promoted to Investigator in 2001, Sergeant in 2004, Lieutenant in 2009, Captain in 2021, and Chief of Police in April of 2023. He has served as the departments investigator, interim chief of police, and served on the Giles County Drug Task Force. 

The Pearisburg Police Department is a six-member Police Department that is built on loyalty, integrity and total dedication. These officers of our department have accepted the challenge of community service and have taken it upon themselves to protect the life and property of each residence within our town.

The Pearisburg Police Department conducts police operations in a professional manner and each member gives maximum effort to the overall objectives of the organization.

Mission Statement
It is the mission of the Pearisburg Police Department to provide all citizens with the highest degree of protection, protecting their lives and property, to preserve peace, and to enforce laws through proper responsive community based service. We are committed to a problem solving process that identifies the issue, establishes goals, and defines responsibilities in order to achieve an effective resolve.

police patch  police badge
police dept. image